Voyages of the Cerberus 76: Passing as the opponent

Leon and Farah reached the Yupis tower and briefly glanced at one another before entering. They had both suited up to look like family bodyguards.

They moved quickly and purposefully towards the more out of the way lift that, according top their intel, had access to the basement.

They made sure that they were clear and Farah brought out her omni-tool, placing it against the lift’s controls.

“Hurry,” Leo muttered.

The tool made a quick confirmation sound and the lift moved down.

“Faster than I thought,” Leon said. “Nicely done.”

“I had help,” Farah said. “Someone accessed my tool remotely. We even managed to delete our entrance from the camera log.”

“Probably Lucy,” Leon said.

The lift opened and the two quickly exited. They made their way to the target point, stopping occasionally to acknowledge people they saw.

“So far so good,” Leon whispered.

“They have no reason to suspect someone who managed to get down here,” Farah whispered back. “At least they won’t until someone does a more thorough security check of the systems and finds out the lift controls got hacked.”

They stopped, pressing themselves against a wall and peered around the corner. The room they needed to get into had two guards standing beside the access terminal.

“Shit,” Farah muttered. “They really take that room’s security seriously. They’ll definitely notice if we try to gain access with the tool.”

“Unless you think I can get their attention with my sex appeal,” Leon whispered.

“Might work if they were Paul,” Farah stated. “Otherwise, I wouldn’t bet on it.”

“No choice then,” Leon said. “Wait here and stay out of sight.”

He bolted into the corridor, looking frantic. The two guards quickly reached for their weapons.

“We have a breach!” he cried, speaking loudly. “There’s an intruder in the emergency armoury. I need you both to come with me, now!”

“I haven’t heard anything about that!” one said.

“Why isn’t the alarm blaring?” her companion asked.

Leon looked at the man like he was an idiot. “Because they don’t know that we know they’re there. If we hurry, we can get the drop on him.” Leon stomped, looking annoyed. “Just do a security check on the second access lift. But hurry.”

The first guard grabbed her hand-held and input some data. “I don’t… wait, I see it!” She turned to her partner. “He’s right! Someone managed to bypass the lift’s security.”

“If you’re satisfied, hurry up and let’s go!” Leon cried.

“Should we leave the room unguarded?” she asked.

“No need to worry,” Leon assured her. “We’ve got a higher up bodyguard heading for the room. She’ll be there in less than five minutes. If she finds the intruder inside, she will shoot them and if she’s at all disturbed, I’ll take full responsibility. But, for the moment, we need to handle this.”

“Yes Sir!”

“I’m sending out the emergency signal,” she said. “It’s got a time delay so we should be able to reach the bastard before he hears the alarm but it’ll go off in time for our superior to be on her guard.”

“Good thinking!” Leon declared, slapping her on the back. The three ran down the other end of the corridor, quickly rounding the corner.

Farah ran from her spot of concealment and moved to the access console.

She connected the omni-tool to it and went to work. Back at the Cerberus, Kat acted. Bringing the Cerberus’ systems and her own knowledge to bear. Betwixt them, they conquered the problem with relative ease and Farah ran inside.

She moved through the various drives, checking each one in turn and returning them as she went through. She needed to find the right one quickly. Leon could only keep them preoccupied for so long.

The minutes ticked away, the alarm started and, finally, she found it. She stored it inside her own omni-tool, leaving the blank drive she had inside it and pocketed the whole thing.

She left the room and stood outside. It was risky, waiting. More risky to run. Besides, she needed to wait for Leon.

Footsteps, getting closer. A group of four guards approached.

“You, what happened to your partner?”

“The regular door guards were taken to assist in finding the intruder,” Farah explained. “I’m covering.”

The guard leader stiffened and examined her. “And why are you covering?”

“Recent hand injury,” Farah said. “Makes me the best choice to stay behind.”

“Uh-huh,” he muttered. He moved to the console and opened the door. He carefully looked inside. “No sign of any struggle,” he reported. “Drives are all in place.” He nodded to his group and turned back to Farah. “Where did they go?”

“Emergency Armoury,” Farah answered.

He nodded. “All right, let’s move.” He pointed to the youngest looking of his subordinates. “Stay here with her, just in case.”

 

Farah waited, making small talk with the young lady.

Just when she was starting to get worried, Leon made his way back. “You,” he said, pointing to Farah. “Come with me. We’re going to guard the first lift.”

“Understood,” Farah said, she followed him.

They moved to the nearest lift. It had a pair of guards.

“When they ask, act like you’re cooperating and lay em out,” Leon whispered. “I’ve got the one on the left.”

The two moved over to the guards. “We’re here to relieve you,” Leon said.

“I haven’t heard that,” the first said. “Show me your identification!”

“Certainly,” Leon said. He moved as though reaching for something before punching the guard as hard as he could. Simultaneously, Farah punched her companion as hard as she could.

The guards went down.

“Now we just use the lift,” Leon said.

“No!” Farah shook her head. “Now we climb, they’ll notice if we use it.”

“Oh, right,” Leon agreed.

The two shimmied up the lift cables until they reached the first floor and they pried the doors open. They quickly checked to insure that they hadn’t been seen, made their way to the ground floor using the stairs and exited as though nothing had happened.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

