The Grand Pilgrimage 32: Preparing for the Stakeout.

“Okay, so we’ve agreed to help you,” Inés stated. “That doesn’t give us a first move.”

“I did consider that,” Lais said. “Remember, I told you that it would be easier with an outsider’s help. I can point you to some places where people go to seek a good time. If you go there, then you can be on the lookout for anyone acting strangely.”

“I get you,” Inés said. “We find out who’s doing it, catch them in the act and clobber them.”

“No,” Lais corrected. “You find out who’s doing it and you bring me all the information on them that you can. Then I’ll clobber them.”

“Right,” Inés stated. “Sounds easy enough. Just tell us where to go.”

“The Great Birch Pub & the Yew Inn would be the places to start,” Lais informed them.

“Then we’ll split up and scope both of em out tonight,” Inés said. “That okay with you, Serena?”

“It’s fine,” Serena stated. “We don’t have to fight, after all.”

“I’ll send a messenger for your report bright and early,” Lais said. “It’s best if I don’t see you directly again until it’s sorted.”

“I guess that means our night together will have to wait,” Inés teased.

“I suppose,” Lais agreed. She rose from her cushion. “I’ll show you two the way out.”

“No need,” Inés said. “We’ll fly.”

“Thank you both,” Lynai said. “My father may have his flaws, but he’s always done his best for our people. He doesn’t deserve to die.”

Inés & Serena mounted Blitz and Dusk, flying from the maze.

“What next?” Serena wondered. “Right to work?”

“Not yet,” Inés said. “There won’t be many people there at this time of day. We’ll go later when they’re busier. I doubt the troublemakers are going in when it would be super conspicuous. They’ll be there when it’s bustling and they’re harder to notice. First, we return to the temple and tell Sylvie what’s going on.”

*****

“So, you two have committed us to watching some random dives for possible subversives that may or may not even exist,” Sylvie stated, tapping her foot. “Do I have that right?”

“Oh come on!” Inés exclaimed. “You think it’s just a coincidence that they’ve had four attempted assassinations in such a short time?”

“It may be people copying the first assassin,” Sylvie said. “For that matter, the king may have done something fairly recently that made a lot of people angry and we’re just looking at the resulting outcry.”

“Well, maybe,” Inés admitted. “But it doesn’t hurt to help check, does it?”

“Fine,” Sylvie said. “I’ll go along with this on the condition that we end our part in the whole investigation after seven days, regardless of whether we’ve found anything or not.”

“That’s…” Inés began. “No, that’s all right. I guess that we don’t wanna be waiting around here for too long.”

Sylvie nodded. “Then tonight I’ll take the Inn. You can take the Pub.”

“What about me?” Serena asked.

“You stay here with the pegasi,” Sylvie stated.

“But we’re just supposed to watch for them,” Serena protested. “We shouldn’t be getting into fights or anything.”

“I know,” Sylvie stated. “But we need someone to watch them.”

“Serena can come with me,” Inés said. She noted Sylvie’s glare. “Blitz and the other’s will be safe here. You saw the way that guard talked to Demure. No elf would try to separate a horse, pegasus or any other animal from someone the animal wanted to be with.”

“Fine,” Sylvie conceded. “Just don’t drag her into any fights and actually pay attention to your surroundings.”

“I always pay attention,” Inés protested.

“You always look for pretty ladies,” Sylvie corrected her. “If these subversives actually exist, they might be men, ugly or old.”

“I’ll make sure she pays attention,” Serena volunteered.

“Not you too,” Inés muttered. “You’ll both see. I can pay attention to everything around me just fine.”

“Then we’ll stay out and meet back up here in the very early morn,” Sylvie said. “I’ll tell Lowe that we’re going out and roughly when to expect us.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

