Voyages of the Cerberus 98: Final Leg to Akumil

“You know,” Allison said “I’m glad that we don’t have to watch a bunch of farewell holos, but it still sucks to be trapped  in a room together with nowhere to go for privacy.”

“Just bear with it a little longer,” Kat said. “We’ll be on Akumil soon.”

“Besides it could be worse,” Farah added. “We could be travelling when Captain Tawaig has his hold full.”

“Do we know our next course of action?” Yuri asked.

Ophelia sat up. “Simple, we ask the Akumillian government for our pay and buy the best ship we can with those credits and the insurance.”

“I think I can persuade them to give us a  little extra to compensate the loss of the Cerberus,” Lucy said. “Although I don’t know if we’ll be able to get anything as good.”

“It will be,” Grace stated. “Once I’ve had the time to tinker with and upgrade it, anyway.”

“We’ll be stuck without fighters or a shuttle,” Ophelia said. “At least for a time. The important thing is that we all made it out. Alive and mostly unhurt. The loss of the Cerberus is a great blow, but we can recover from it.”

“At least tell me we’ll have as many crew quarters,” Allison said.

“You may have to share with Yuri while Grace shares with Farah,” Lucy said. “We may have fewer and smaller quarters. I know that you like your privacy, but everyone who’s sleeping together may have to room together too.”

“I will endeavour to be absent enough to grant you ample time in solitude,” Yuri said.

“Thanks,” Allison said.

“Having to share rooms isn’t a forgone conclusion,” Ophelia said. “We may very well be able to find a good deal.” She shrugged. “Either way, there’s no use in worrying about it now.”

“I’ll go with you when you buy the ship,” Grace volunteered. “I can find any problems and, if they aren’t too  bad, use them to get the price lowered.”

“Then we’ll have to go into Alliance territory,” Lucy said. “Our merchants don’t hide problems nor do they haggle.”

“Although, it would be helpful for you to double check everything,” Ophelia said. “Just in case one of the merchants missed something.”

“And  then it’ll be more adventures for our beautiful heroine and her comrades,” Allison said.

“What are you on about?” Leon asked.

“Well, if this was one of Kat’s stories, I’d obviously be the heroine,” Allison said. “Yuri would be my love interest. Grace would be my rival. Paul and Leon would be the supportive couple and so on.”

“Does that mean they’d pretend you’re funny?” Grace asked.

“Now you’re just getting sassy,” Allison stated.

“Should I get you some polyethylene glycol? Paul asked.

“And now they’re ganging up,” Allison said. “I guess siblings have to stick together.” She laughed and the group continued their talk.

*****

“Captain, we’re within ssscanner range of Akumil,” Ussie reported.

Elijah yawned. “That’s nice. Antoine, can you tell our guests to get ready to disembark?”

“Fine,” Antoine said. “Be nice  to get away from your stoned ass any way.”

He left the Bridge and moved to the cargo bay.

“Hey,”  Allison said. “It’s the crewman who’s totally tsundere for the captain.”

“Tsu what?” Antoine asked. He shook his head. “Never mind. I have more important things to worry about.” He cleared his throat. “Cerberus crew, prepare to disembark. We are approaching Akumi.” He turned to leave but thought better of it. “And thank Elijah before you go. He may be an idiot, but he did help you.”

“Sure thing, Tsun boy,” Allison called.

“And don’t call me that!” Antoine declared.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

