Voyages of the Cerberus 101: Charges

“We’ve got a long distance transmission,” Farah reported. “From an Alliance ship.” She was on the bridge with Ophelia and Lucy.

“What could they want?” Lucy wondered. “Do they know we brought down their secret weapon?”

“Only one way to be sure,” Ophelia said. “Patch it through.”

A thin moustachioed man was on the screen. “Captain Wesker?”

“You’re talking to her,” Ophelia said. “What does the Alliance want with me?”

He cleared his throat. “Consider yourself officially served. I’ve sent all relevant documents. You would be wise to peruse them.” The transmission cut.

Ophelia looked over the files. “Farah, take a break and send Kat in to cover for you.”

“Sure,” Farah said. “But what is this all about?”

“Later, Farah,” Ophelia said. “Just send her in, quickly.”

*****

Farah went right to Engineering and recounted the events to Grace. “Do you think they know how the old Cerberus got destroyed?” Farah asked.

Grace shrugged. “Maybe.”

“You don’t seem worried,” Farah observed.

“I’m not,” Grace stated. “Even if they’re summoning us to answer for something or another, we’re technically an Akumillian ship. There’s no extradition treaty. Worst case scenario, we stay out of Alliance space. They’re just putting on airs of authority.”

“I suppose,” Farah said.

“Everyone,” Ophelia’s voice rang out. “Please come to the Conference room.”

*****

Farah and Grace were the first to arrive. Ophelia and Lucy were in place. Kat was looking distractedly into the distance.

They waited for everyone to arrive.

“We just got a transmission from the Alliance,” Ophelia explained. “They want us to turn Kat over to them or they’re threatening to come after us.”

“Wait, this isn’t about the last mission?” Grace asked.

“It’s a power play,” Lucy said. “There’s nothing for them to use to prove that we were behind their little toy’s destruction. So, they’ll try to get a hold of Kat and they’ll put her under the latest interrogation techniques to use her against us.”

“Naturally, we won’t be doing as they ask,” Ophelia said. “But we should be on alert.”

“Hold on,” Grace said. “You said they can’t nail us on the whole mission due to the lack of proof. What exactly do they have on Kat?”

“Grace, drop it,” Paul said. “You don’t need to know.”

“Oh, that’s a surprise,” Lucy stated. “Paul, when did you find out?”

“I suspected since the first time I gave her a physical,” Paul answered.

“Wait, I’m confused,” Leon said. “What’s all this have to do with telling the Alliance to shove their demands in their collective ass?”

“Can we stay on point please?” Grace demanded.

“I think it’s fair for us to know where our troubles come from,” Allison agreed.

“It doesn’t even matter,” Leon said. “Even if we could turn her in, which we can’t, she’s one of us. We don’t abandon our own.”

“It’s the principle of the thing,” Grace insisted.

Kat sighed. “They claim to have new evidence that I murdered Scott Theris.” She sighed. “And proof that I was an enforcer for the Ze’el family.”

“Angela’s first husband?” Farah asked.

“Those Mafioso we gathered evidence to bring down?” Leon added. “They’re just  making shit up!”

“Maybe,” Kat said. “Excuse me.” She rose from her seat and left the conference room.

“All right,” Lucy said. “Let’s all get back to work. We’ve got medical supplies to deliver, you know.”

*****

“I don’t get it,” Leon muttered. “Why didn’t she just say that the Alliance has nothing? They couldn’t, right?”

“I won’t claim to know why she said maybe,” Paul said. “Although I have my suspicions.” He clapped Leon’s shoulder. “Just keep believing in her.”

*****

“I thought you erased her name from those records,” Ophelia said.

“I did,” Lucy stated. “Completely and irreversibly.”

“So, they are bluffing,” Ophelia said.

“Or they have a witness,” Lucy said. “Although I suspect that it’s been long enough that there aren’t many left who knew her personally and it’s been long enough that she might not be recognisable.” She sighed. “I’ll go find and talk with her.”

“I’ll get Allison and Yuri to help on the bridge,” Ophelia said.

*****

“Kat,” Lucy said. “Are you going to let me in or do I override your lock?”

“Fine, come in,” Kat said. Lucy walked in, the door shutting behind her.

“You don’t have to be this bothered,” Lucy said.

“Don’t I?” Kat asked. “We’re going to come under fire because of my past. My colleagues… my friends… you guys could be killed. Because of me.”

“Don’t flatter yourself,” Lucy said. “You’re just the most convenient excuse. “If it wasn’t you, they’d open a case of treason against Paul or a case of negligence against Grace.”

“It’s not the same,” Kat said. “Paul and Grace are innocent.”

“Grace is,” Lucy agreed. “Technically speaking, Paul isn’t. They’d just have to air some of their own dirty secrets to press charges against him.”

“Do you think they would, for this?” Kat asked.

Lucy shrugged. “They’d probably go for Grace. They wouldn’t have to prove a case against her. They just need enough to bring her in for questioning.”

“Even so…” Kat began.

“Shush,” Lucy interrupted. “Listen to me for a moment. Your past may not be spotless. Ophelia and I knew that when we approached you. I guess Paul also managed to figure it out. You know what, that doesn’t matter. Since you came aboard you’ve been a valued member of this crew. There’s no one aboard you haven’t saved at some point. Right now, Leon, Farah, Grace, Allison and Yuri are a bit taken aback, but I’d wager good credits that all of them still care for you. Still consider you a valued friend and comrade. Right now, we’re in this mess because of our altercation with their new toy and we’ll all have to get through it together. Right now, we all need you to be strong and on top of things. You’re a smart woman, think about that for a while.”

Lucy turned and left Kat alone in her Quarters.

 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

