The Grand Pilgrimage 49: Children of the Gods

Poseidon’s chariot flew through the sky, his hippocampuses pulling and swimming as though still in the ocean. Dusk, Blitz & Demure followed, keeping their distance but  determinedly making their way forward.

That’s when they arrived. It was a staggering sight. The buildings seemed to spring up from the clouds themselves, massive, shimmering platinum in colour and adorned with jewels. Everything around them was very pure. Nothing was tarnished, nor was there any trace of anything foul.

“It’s beautiful,” Serena stated.

Inés nodded.

“Welcome to Olympus, Daughter,” Poseidon said. “Its regal splendour equals that of my own palace. Some day, I will show it to you. I will even grant your concubine a temporary suitability to the depths, that she may accompany you.”

“Don’t call her my concubine!” Inés snapped. “She’s my lover. Even if I have more than one, they aren’t concubines… Sir.”

“Very well,” Poseidon said. “Your lover then. Bring as many as you wish. After our business is complete.”

He left his chariot. Inés followed suit followed by Serena and Sylvie. It wasn’t like walking on the ground. The cloud felt less solid, more gelatinous in nature. Almost like you could press into it and either launch yourself into the air or get stuck in it.

Poseidon led them into a large, very  busy garden. A crowd of people had gathered. Some had weapons and armour. Others were dressed as peasants or in the robes of royalty, carrying no visible weapons. In spite  of the large number of them, there was no conversation. They all  stared. Some  at their surroundings, others at the grey-eyed armoured Goddess who waited  patiently to address them.

The garden itself was strange. The plants were larger, lusher than even those  of the elven forest. Looking closely, Sylvie noticed that the roots of the plants were actually visible through the clouds, barely. Tiny white globes ran up the roots and into the plants. Inés watched Poseidon turn and leave without a word.

Thunder cracked overhead and all eyes turned to Athena. “You are all here for a reason,” she explained. “All of you are children of Gods. To begin, I will announce all of you and your lineage.”

There were children of most of the Gods present. The three names missing from parentage were the virgin Goddesses: Athena, Artemis & Hestia. Possibly some more minor deities as well. Inés wasn’t paying very close attention. Until Poseidon’s  name came up.

“For my honoured uncle, Poseidon,” Athena stated. “There are two of you. the elder daughter, Camila and the younger daughter, Inés.”

Inés slightly raised her hand  in acknowledgement to her name being called. Her eyes darted around feverishly. Hoping for a glimpse of the half-sister she’d never known about.

She spotted her after a moment. Like herself, Camila had violet hair, (although hers was long and curly) light brown skin and piercing blue eyes. Camila smiled and winked, noticing her as well.

After some more names being listed, Athena’s tone became more serious. “You may wonder why you’re here. especially since so many of you were unaware of your divine parentage before today. I will say it clearly. Some fool mortals on the third continent unbound Typhon. Typhon in turn released the other Titans. They have gathered the monstrous children of Echidna, and they are making their way to Olympus to wage war.”

“And we’re expected to fight the Titans?” a disbelieving voice rang out.

“No,” Athena stated. “You are  expected to face the children of Echidna. I’ll be honest, there are more of them than there are of you. You, however, are stronger than them. You also have the advantage of having strong defensive positions to aid you in guarding against their attack. You will all be placed in groups and you will go on the defensive. You need not  slay them all. You merely have to hold out until the Titans are defeated. Now, I will  announce your groups.”

Athena went through all the names. Giving group assignments and detailed instructions for their role in the defence of Olympus. Inés,  Serena and Sylvie were put in a group with Lilac, a daughter of Dionysus, Wilfred, a son of Ares, Jenna, a daughter of Zeus and Eritos, a daughter of Eris.

“Be very careful, my Priestesses,” Athena instructed. “The half bloods may be stronger than  Echidna’s spawn, but you two will be vulnerable.”

“I’ll keep an eye on them,” Inés said.

“I’m sure you will,” Athena said. “Just don’t let your guards down.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

