The Grand Pilgrimage 50: Introductions

“Sorry, Ladies,” Inés said. “I never suspected that I’d get us caught in anything like this.”

“Not your fault,” Sylvie said. “Not like you could’ve known that you’re Poseidon’s daughter or that the Gods themselves were going to call on you.”

“Besides,” Serena said. “It’ll make for a great tale. I’ll bet the other  priestesses are going to be super impressed that we saw Athena herself.”

“If we survive this,” Sylvie said. She looked up at their pegasi and felt somewhat reassured knowing that they were there.

They arrived at their post. A relic from the first war between the Gods and Titans. The guard post was made of a material they couldn’t identify. There was a large wall made of the same  material with small sentry holes for them to peer through. The guard building had some comfortable beds with an alarm mechanism designed to activate should anything get near the wall.

Inés examined their companions. Lilac was pale skinned with green eyes and braided platinum blonde hair. She was about a hundred fifty eight centimetres tall. Wilfred was tan skinned with a shaved head and curled black moustache. He had brown eyes and was a good ten centimetres taller than Lilac. Jenna had spiky red hair and heterochromatic eyes, one green the other a bright blue. She was just over  a hundred seventy centimetres tall. Eritos was massive. Over two hundred twenty centimetres tall She was also striking in her strangeness. She had pointed ears  with eyes that shifted in colour every ten to twenty seconds. They went from pink to violet to yellow to green to red and back to pink to repeat the cycle. Her multi-coloured hair went down to the small of her back. There was no pattern to the colours in her hair, just a mesh of red, purple, orange, indigo, yellow, green, and blue.

Lilac nudged Wilfred’s ribs. “You must be super excited. Being put in a team with so many beauties.”

Wilfred absent-mindedly rubbed the spot she’d nudged and sighed. “Madame, even if I was so inclined, we are all related.”

Lilac looked confused for a moment. “Are we?” she asked.

“Certainly,” Jenna chimed in. “Poseidon and Zeus are brothers. Which makes me and this one cousins.” she pointed to Inés  “Ares and Dionysus are  both sons of Zeus which makes you two cousins and me your aunt. Eris is a daughter of Zeus which makes the tall one there your cousin as well.”

“Oh,” Lilac muttered. “But they’re Gods so it’s not really the same, is it?”

Jenna pat her head and addressed the group. “We should get to know one another a bit. Since we are working together. I’m Jenna Serpen. I’ve  been living in Olympus for the past seventy years. Before that I  was a mercenary  for a hundred and some years. I forget just how many.I got tired of fighting and took my father up on his offer to stay up here, but I’m confident that I’ve still got my skills. Miss Lilac, you introduce yourself next.”

“Me?” Lilac asked. “Lilac Ristin. Forty three. I was working as a bouncer at a pub when I got dragged up here. This is my first time seeing Olympus.”

“Wilfred McAlistair,” Wilfred stated. “Eighty six, if you must know. I must confess, I’ve never fought before. I was a travelling scholar and, to be honest, I find the whole idea of dragging us up here on the grounds of our parentage and asking us to fight asinine.”

Eritos burst out laughing, loudly. Even her voice was strange. It sounded like two women talking at once. One with a soft melodious voice. The other with a deep, strong voice. “Imagine,” she said. “A pacifist son of Ares, God of War and a scholar to boot. How amusing.”

“And what about you?” Jenna asked. “Eritos, was it?”

“Please, call me Gail,” Eritos said. “I’m… older than you by a fair portion of time. If you must know what I’ve been doing… well, I’ve spent a lot of time idling. Now, I believe the daughter of Poseidon is next. Judging by her armour, I’d say she’s a warrior priestess, but let’s pretend we don’t notice and listen to her explain it herself.”

“You didn’t exactly say much about yourself,” Inés snapped. “Well, whatever. I’m Inés, just Inés. Not even twenty yet. Warrior priestess dedicated to Athena. My companions are Sylvie Fortunio and Serena Rabelle. We were on a pilgrimage to Drahaven when this whole thing happened.”

“At least there’s one other warrior,” Jenna said. “Young though you are.” She looked around the group. “I propose that I take command of the group, given my seniority as a warrior. Any objections?” No one spoke. “Good. Inés, I’ll need your help to train these three for combat. As much as we can before we get thrown into battle.”

“Sure,” Inés said. “Don’t know how good of a teacher I’ll be, but I’ll try.”

“Focus on these two,” Gail said. “I’ll be just fine.” She snapped her fingers and vanished.

“Good way to get killed,” Jenna Muttered. “I get the feeling she’ll be difficult. Guess it can’t be helped. I’ll train Wilfred. You take Lilac.”

*****

A Quick Message from the Writer

Hey everyone, those of you who also read Voyages of the Cerberus have seen this basic message already, but I know that there are people who just read one or the other. So, I’ll repeat myself a bit. First off, thank you all for reading. It does mean a lot to me and I do appreciate it. Secondly, given the time of year, I want to wish you all a joyous and secure holiday season whether you celebrate Hearth’s Warming, Hogswatch, the Solstice, Hanukkah, Kwanzaa, Saturnalia, Christmas, or any other holiday.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

