Voyages of the Cerberus 109: Tragedy & Triumph

Kat did her best to manoeuvre the shuttle between Yuri and as many of  the turrets as she could. Bullets sprayed across the hull. Kat lowered her body, hoping that the shuttle wouldn’t go down. She opened the hatch.

Yuri dodged and weaved her  way towards the shuttle. turrets firing from behind. Kat glanced back in time to see Yuri getting pushed into the shuttle by turret fire. She hurriedly closed the hatch and turned to retreat. The shuttle’s wind shield shattered opening the cockpit up to fire.

Keeping down, Kat turned to retreat. Pushing through the sudden sharp pain. She focused on getting away from the turrets. finally, they were clear. She went to activate the communicator with her right arm, but couldn’t. She switched to her left. “Cerberus, this is Kat,” she reported. “We need Grace down here quickly. Yuri was hit.”

******

“Leon, lend me one of your plasma knives and cover the door,” Allison said. “I am about to be brilliant.”

“Work quickly,” Leon said, tossing it to her. She grinned and moved inside the sleeping quarters while he continued taking shots at the pacificans.

*****

The new Elegant Simurgh landed near the damaged shuttle. Grace hurriedly clambered out of the cockpit, grabbed her tools from the side and ran over. Icily eyeing the damage to the shuttle as she approached.

She eyed Kat with concern. “You should’ve called for Paul as well,” she said. “That shoulder does not look good.”

“It’ll be fine,” Kat said. “I managed to patch the breach in the suit and it’s nothing life threatening. I’m much more worried about Yuri. She seems to have gone off line.”

Grace examined the android. Yuri’s left arm had been blown off. The synthetic skin on that side of her head had been shredded, revealing patches of the metallic skeleton beneath.

Grace went to work. Checking her status, assessing the level of damage. She shook her head. “Not good. There’s damage to her neural network. I’ll have to shut everything down and try to restore her memory and personality from her backups.”

“You can do it, right?” Kat asked.

“I don’t know,” Grace said. “The backups seem to be intact, but the neural damage may have corrupted the data. And if it’s going to stand a chance of success, I’ll have to repair her brain perfectly. Even a slight mistake could mean permanent damage.” She  stood. “Can you help me get her into the Simurgh with  one arm? I wouldn’t ask, and it’ll be a tight fit, but I’ll be able to concentrate better on the ship.”

“I can manage,” Kat said. “You’ll be carrying most of the weight.”

Grace nodded. “I’ll send Paul down for  you after I’ve got her safely in my laboratory area.”

*****

An explosion sounded in the sleeping chamber. Within seconds, the enemy fire had died down.

The pacificans cautiously made their way forward, suspecting a trap. They moved in formation, keeping close.

They crowded around the door frame, peering in, ready to retract their heads at the slightest sign of trouble. All seemed clear. They moved inside.

The far wall had had a hole blown into it. They moved to examine it, staying in formation and on guard. The hole was fairly small, but just large enough that their enemies could have squeezed through.

Their squadron leader examined the edges, wondering how they managed to get through without cutting themselves on the jagged pieces of metal.

Their investigation was interrupted when their rear guard dropped. They turned, quickly. Not getting distracted as more fell. Two blasters were hanging from a hole in the ceiling. Allison and Leon glanced down into the room as they fired. The metal piece that Allison had cut out of the roof was moved to the side now that they didn’t need it to make it look intact.

The pacificans tried to regroup and return fire, but there were too few of them left and they quickly fell. Allison and Leon dropped back into the room.

“Told you that I’m awesome,” Allison said.

“Let’s just hurry and get to that control room before we run into more,” Leon said. “I’ll praise your guile  later.”

“If there are more,” Allison said. “They might’ve thrown all they had at us,” she shrugged. “Just make sure you praise me in front of Yuri.”

They hurried down the now empty corridor and deeper into the installation.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

