The Grand Pilgrimage 61: Matthew

Inés had her breakie and returned to Lynde.

“Thank you,” Lynde said.

“You’re welcome,” Inés said. She sat down. “That speed spell you used, you said you learned it from my sister, didn’t you?”

“That’s right,” Lynde said.

“You must be centuries old then,” Inés said.

Lynde shook her head. “Actually, I learned it from her during my adventure with Lina. We travelled to Tartarus, long story, and found her in her prison. I was able to convince her to teach me some aether spells.”

“So, what was that ‘before’ business about?” Inés asked.

“Oh, that,” Lynde said. “Lina and I were travelling with some friends. Shortly after we met Camila, one of those friends lost their life.”

“I’m sorry for bringing it up,” Inés said.

“Don’t worry about it,” Lynde said. “It was decades ago. Besides, I brought it up to begin with. Although, I suspect you brought it up for a reason. Are you looking to learn aether magic?”

“Oh, no,” Inés said. “I don’t think I could. No, I was just thinking about how fast you were. I imagine my sister can’t be seen when she does it either.”

“She can be seen,” Lynde stated. “At least she could when I saw her demonstrate. It’s possible she was holding back. It’s also possible that her magic skills aren’t as honed as mine or that her dual element nature works against her.”

“Oh, she’s a dual element user,” Inés said. “I didn’t know that.”

“Water and Aether,” Lynde confirmed.

“After this whole ordeal is over, you’ll have to tell me all about that adventure,” Inés said. “Sounds like it was interesting.”

“Lina and I live in the Elven city of Lora Gi’mira,” Lynde said. “Stop by. We’ll trade stories.”She abruptly stood upright and waved. “Over here!” she called.

A young looking man with pointed ears hurried over. He had light brown hair, eyes to match and a lithe build. “I’m here as ordered,” he said. “This is one of my new team, then?”

Lynde nodded. “Matthew, this is Inés. Inés, Matthew.”

“Pleased to meet’cha,” Matthew said, extending his hand.

Inés shook it. “Same.”

“Then I’ll return to my post,” Lynde said. “Being down three people will be quite the dilemma.”

“Three?” Inés asked.

“We lost one during the battle,” Matthew said. “With me transferring, Lynde will be down two, but she’ll manage. Besides, I hear you lost two in the battle yourselves.”

“We did,” Inés said. “But won’t this bring you guys down to the same number we’d be at without you?”

“Don’t worry about it,” Lynde said. “My team is all experienced and without any pure mortals.” She waved and hurried off, back to her team.

*****

Inés took Matthew to the base and introduced him to Sylvie, Serena, Gail & Lilac. She didn’t mention that Lynde’s group had less people than theirs due to his transfer.

“Great,” Gail muttered. “Another one to look after.”

“Gail, be nice,” Sylvie chided.

“No need to look after me, Miss Gail,” Matthew said. “Though I have heard of your prowess with magic and have the utmost confidence that you’re capable of doing so, I was sent because I can look after myself quite capably. I’ve proven that enough to Lady Lyn to be entrusted to this very important post.”

“Is this post that important?” Serena wondered.

Matthew nodded. “Of course. Now that the feint’s failed, though not without casualties, Echidna’s children will try an all out attack. An attack concentrated on a single spot. Most likely, this spot.”

“Because of us mortals?” Sylvie asked.

“They do seem to underestimate you,” Matthew said, flashing a bright smile. “But that’s not all. You lost Jenna and, as I understand it, she was taking charge. Adjusting will be difficult.”

“Great,” Inés muttered. “We needed to have a large group of monstrosities march against us again.”

“I doubt it will be that simple,” Gail said. “They might not be the brightest of creatures, but they know something of tactics. They’ll try something sneaky.”

“Which is another reason I was chosen to join you,” Matthew said. “I’m an expert at sneaking. Lady Lyn is counting on me to see through their strategy.”

“Aren’t we the cocky one?” Gail asked.

Matthew kept his grin. “Well, just wait and see. I don’t mind proving myself to you.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

