The Grand Pilgrimage 64: Council of Half Bloods

Serena had her head in Inés’ lap. Sylvie was helping Lilac train. Matthew was fiddling with some cards and Gail was sitting, her mind elsewhere. It had been the two days and they were waiting to hear from Lynde.

Lynde arrived on foot. She was travelling with a young looking dwarf. He barely had a beard.

“Lady Lyn,” Matthew greeted. “Dorcas.”

“Mattie boy,” Dorcas greeted.

“I’ve sent the basics of your idea to the other groups,” Lynde said, looking pointedly at Inés. We’ve all agreed to send two representatives to discuss whether or not we should do it and how we should go about it if we do. You’ll have to be one of them for your group, of course. Your group will also have to decide on your second.”

“Guess it can’t be helped,” Inés said. “Sorry, Serena. We’ll resume when I get back. She walked over to Sylvie and pat her shoulder. You ready to go, Pal?”

“Me?” Sylvie asked. She looked around. “Are you all okay with that? I mean, I’m not a half God or anything.”

“Well, you are the Boss,” Matthew said.

“It does make the most sense,” Serena agreed.

“Just go already,” Gail muttered.

“All right,” Sylvie said. “Take us to the meeting place.”

*****

The spot chosen for the meeting was part of the centre barracks. There were ten others inside already. the four of them were the last to arrive. Inés was a little concerned to note that Camila was among the group.

“All right,” Lynde said. “We’ve all had time to mull over Inés’ idea to take the fight to the titans. What are everyone’s thoughts?”

A red-haired elf stood up. “My group is concerned about the possibility of Echidna’s remaining children banding together,” she said. “They could well flank us.”

“Fortune favours the bold, Dear Lyev,” Camila said.

“Then, are you in favour of just rushing in?” Lyev asked.

“Of course,” Camila said. “It’s my dear little sister’s plan, after all.” She winked at Inés.

“I do agree that we can’t leave our posts undefended,” Lynde said. “That’s why I would suggest a small strike force. Each group sends their strongest members. We leave the others behind just in case.”

A man with dark green hair stood. “Suppose we do as you suggest. Will the weaker members of our group be able to stave off an attack by themselves?”

A gnome with light pink hair and spectacles scrambled on top of the table. “Weaker or not, they are still children of the Gods,” he said. “Given the diminished nature of the opposing forces, they should be able to hold out.”

“You’ve heard William,” Camila said. “And he’s a son of Apollo. So, there’s no reason not to go ahead.”

“Wait just a moment!” The green haired man spoke. “Aren’t we forgetting about the group with two regular mortals? Will they be okay?”

“Not to mention the bigger question of whether or not those of us who move against a titan will be okay,” Lyev added. She glanced at William. “No offence, Little Brother.”

“I’m older than you,” William muttered.

“I wouldn’t worry about Sylvie and Serena,” Inés said. “I’ve fought by their sides for a while and they’re both totally capable.”

“I fought with them as well, for a little bit,” Lynde stated. “I’ll vouch for their competence. You don’t need to worry, Patrick. As for Lyev’s concern, I believe that our main purpose during the battle will be to distract a single titan long enough for one of the Gods to deal with them. For that, we’ll need a good plan and teamwork more than we will sheer numbers.”

A dwarven woman stood  to speak. “Now that concerns me,” she said. “Do you really think we can coordinate a bunch of half bloods like that?”

“It’s possible,” William interjected. “Lynde’s team is proof of that much. Does your team not work well together, Famina?”

“My team works fine,” Famina stated. “But we’re talkin a much larger group. Not only that, but a group of the strongest of the strong. Will it really be that easy?”

the group began arguing the point. Finally, Sylvie stepped forward. “Excuse me,” she said. “But I have something to say.” She glanced around to make sure they were paying attention. “Miss Famina, you’re concerned that you won’t be able to coordinate. However, I feel that being stronger will make that easier. True, under normal circumstances you might not need to coordinate. But a part of being strong is recognising when you can win on your own versus when you can’t. Let me ask, do any of you think you can beat a titan on your own?” There was silence in response to the question. “That’s what I thought. Now, how many of you think you can manage to hinder one if you work together?”

“Obviously we can,” Camila stated.

“I think so too,” Lynde agreed.

“The probability is in our favour,” William said.

There was a chorus of agreement from around the table.

“And that’s why you’ll all work together,” Sylvie stated. Because, if nothing else, you all know it’s the only way.”

Famina looked deep in thought for a moment. “Lass, you may be right.” She said. “I withdraw the objection.”

“Are there any further objections to the plan?” Lynde asked.

*****

“That went well,” Lynde said.

Inés nudged Sylvie. “You always were a persuasive speaker. Makes me wonder how you can freeze up so badly where Illyana is concerned.”

“Shut it,” Sylvie said.

“Dorcas and I will take our leave here,” Lynde said. “I’ll prepare the troops who will come with me for the mission.”

“See you tomorrow,” Inés said. She and Sylvie waved goodbye.

“You’ll be careful going against the titan, won’t you?” Sylvie asked.

“Don’t worry about me,” Inés said. “I can be careful when I have to be. Besides, I’ll have Matthew and Gail with me. Just look after Serena for me, okay?”

“I will,” Sylvie said. “If Echidna’s children do attack, I promise to keep her from harm.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

