The Grand Pilgrimage 65: To Target a Literal Titan

Inés travelled with Gail, Lynde, Matthew and several others to the site of the battle betwixt Gods and Titans.

They weren’t prepared.

The sights that greeted them were beyond what they imagined. Thunderbolts, flames and all manner of magics flew across the field. Some Gods were engaged in hand to hand combat with Titans. Their weapons crashed against each other with a force that reverberated across the sky. The half bloods could feel it hurling like a great wind against them.

“We’re lucky,” Gail stated. “If we’d arrived early on in the battle, the force might well have been strong enough to knock us right off of Olympus.” She looked at Inés. “Do you still think we should try to make a difference? We could still head back.”

“We don’t need to get into the thick of it,” Inés said. “We just need to hold back one of them long enough for the Gods to take them out.”

“That’s my beloved Sister!” Camila exclaimed. Inés hurriedly moved away to avoid her embrace.

“I believe we can do some good,” Lynde said. “We just need to work together and find the right target.”

“I think I see him,” Famina said, gesturing at a pale, lean Titan with a great white beard. “What say you, Little Brother?”

“Still older than you,” William protested.

“But so much smaller,” Famina stated.

William sighed. “Well, he’s on his own, hurling spells. If we can sneak up on him, we stand a good chance of being an adequate distraction. But we should be prepared. Do you know which Titan he is?”

“Can’t say I do,” Famina said. “I haven’t exactly met a bunch of Titans. Not even during my time spent with you and father.”

“Me neither,” William said. “This is a quandary.”

“We’ll just have to go without knowing,” Inés said.

“Bad idea,” Gail argued. “Knowing who he is lets us know what he’s apt to do.”

“You’re such a baby,” Camila interjected. she examined the Titan. “Crius. I remember from my own time in Tartarus.”

“Oh, I know him!” Famina exclaimed. “Titan of the stars.”

“then magic is probably his strong suit,” William said. “We’ll move in swiftly, but quietly. Hope he’s too distracted fighting the Gods to notice us until we’re close enough to do damage.”

“Once we’re close, we’ll split into teams and surround him,” Lynde stated. “We’ll use hit and run tactics to keep him off balance. One team will strike and withdraw. While they’re withdrawing, the next team will move in. We just need to keep him off balance long enough for one of the Gods to move in.”

“I’ll team with my adorable sister,” Camila volunteered.

“No!” Lynde said. “You two will be on separate teams.”

Camila moved close to Lynde, getting in her face. “Have you so swiftly forgotten our deal? I taught you my spell. Now that I’m free, you aren’t allowed to get in my way.”

Lynde met her gaze. “First off,” she said. “You aren’t free until this is over. Secondly, I’m not ‘getting in your way.’ In order for this plan to work, we need to move in sync without distractions. And your massive sister complex is going to be a distraction. Both for you, and for Inés. I will not have your selfishness compromise all of our safety.” She took a step closer to Camila. “You and Inés will be on separate teams. Understood?”

Camila and Lynde glared at one another for a moment. “Fine,” Camila conceded. “But you can’t keep us apart forever. Remember, after this is over you can’t interfere. No matter what.”

*****

Sylvie noticed Serena looking up at the sky, her arms behind her back.

“Don’t look at the sun,” Sylvie cautioned. “Especially not from up here.”

“I won’t,” Serena said. “It is funny, though. The clouds are so different up here. Some float by right next to you. Others are so close you can reach up and put your hand through them. I guess I just never imagined I’d be this far off of the ground.”

“Is it going to be difficult for you to go back?” Sylvie asked.

“Just the opposite,” Serena said. “I look forward to going back. Having my feet planted on solid ground instead of this weird cloud. Finishing the pilgrimage with you and Inés so that I can get back to my training. Although, I am a little conflicted on that. When we get done, I don’t imagine I’ll get to spend nearly as much time with her.”

“I thought You were fine with her having other girls too,” Sylvie said.

“I am,” Serena said. “It’s part of what makes her her. Besides, she’s fine with me having other girls too. I… I’m just a little afraid that she’ll forget me. You know?”

Sylvie sighed. “Don’t worry. Inn all the time I’ve known her, no matter how lecherous she’s been, I’ve never known her to forget  about one of her girlfriends.”

Serena smiled. “Really?”

“Really,” Sylvie said.

“Emergency!” They were interrupted by a pixie flying in. “Echidna’s remaining children are attacking Lynde’s group. The remaining two need help!”

“We’ll be there,”Sylvie said. She helped Serena up. “We’ll take Demure and Dusk. Leave Lilac here, just in case they have a few stragglers that are going to try sneaking through other areas.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

