The Grand Pilgrimage 70: Camila’s Opening Attack

Camila walked to shore. Her stride was filled with confidence. “Were you waiting long my soon to be bride?” she asked. “Are you ready to bring this world to a golden age with me?” She glanced at Serena and Sylvie. “Your servants may attend our wedding, but they’re going to have to make themselves scarce while we go through our consummation.”

“I’m not going to marry you,” Inés said. “For one thing, you’re my sister and it’s gross. For another thing, I’m not the marrying type. I’m also going to suggest that you give up on your plans to conquer everything. They’re more than a little crazy.”

“Inés, stop provoking her!” Sylvie said in a harsh whisper. “We need to distract her to wait for you know what.”

Camila broke out in laughter. “Oh my dear, sweet, stupid Inés. You don’t really get it, do you? I’m not asking for your feedback. I will have your strength by my side and I will have your body. You may not believe it right now and you may not like it, but what I desire inevitably becomes mine.” She moved close to Inés and put her hand under Inés’ chin, pulling her face close to her own. “I suggest you not fight it. It’s just going to cause problems for you. I may even have to punish you by killing your little friends.”

Inés slapped her hand away. “Don’t touch me!”

Camila shrugged. “I tried. I guess I’ll just have to break that spirit of yours.”

With a swift motion she grabbed Inés by the throat and lifted her. Inés responded immediately by kicking Camila with both feet. Surprisingly, Camila kept hold of her. She tossed Inés backwards, into the water.

“Now, for you two,” Camila said. She lunged, almost too quickly for Sylvie to respond.

Sylvie’s rapier barely managed to turn Camila’s trident strike in time. She tried to strike back with a quick lightning spell, but Camila was faster. Her knee went up into Sylvie’s gut, sending her sprawling.

Serena slammed her tonfa into Camila’s back, trying to get her away from Sylvie. Camila was staggered, but kept on her feet. She turned, a vicious swipe of her trident knocked the tonfa from Serena’s hands.

Camila gave a sadistic smile while sticking her trident upright in the ground. Then she punched Serena. Once, twice, thrice. She reached back and retrieved the trident.

A loud crash of waves interrupted her. Inés came flying in, slamming into Camila. Her staff met Camila’s trident and she furiously fought to get Camila away from the battered Serena.

“How sweet of you,” Camila said, parrying Inés ‘ strikes. “Trying to save your little girlfriend. Tell you what, agree to stop fighting and do as I say and I’ll let her off with those bruises, assuming she doesn’t have permanent brain damage. ”

“What’s wrong with you?” Inés demanded. “She’s not a tool for you to use. And I’m certainly not your toy.”

“I see,”  Camila said. “Too bad for her.”

Inés’ next staff strike went through mid air as Camila used her speed technique. Inés managed to follow her movements as she lunged for Serena’s battered, unconscious body.

For a moment, Inés was terrified. She couldn’t get there fast enough, she knew. That was when Serena vanished in a blinding flash of light and Camila’s trident slammed into the ground.

“A teleportation spell?” Camila asked. She looked back at Inés and over to Sylvie, who was just managing to pick herself up. “Not one of you two, I see.” She shrugged. “Doesn’t matter. Whoever you’ve got in hiding, I’ll deal with them too.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

