Voyages of the Cerberus 131: Forming Bonds

Kat grabbed her communicator. “Ophelia, I’m finished grabbing everything Paul asked for. I’m going to take the Wyvern and transport it all over now.”

“I’ll tell Paul you’re on the way,” Ophelia said. “Just remember to wear a full atmosphere suit. No need to have more people infected.”

“I know,” Kat said. “Don’t worry.”

*****

“Do you think she’ll tell us how her investigation goes?” Farah asked.

“Probably not,” Leon muttered. “I don’t think she cares for us. But, whatever. She’ll have the evidence she needs and we’ll be in the clear.”

“She’ll tell us,” Lucy stated. “She’s the straightforward type. When she had reason to mistrust us, she let it show. Now that we’ve given her the evidence she needs to close this case she’ll let her gratitude show just as clearly. Besides, she did leave us alone. That shows some trust.”

“We just did the right thing and helped catch the real culprits,” Farah said.

“I wonder,” Lucy whispered.

“What was that?” Leon asked.

Lucy shook her head. “Nothing, just thinking.”

*****

“This must be your friend,” Angela said. She held out her hand. “I’m Doctor Ziegmari.”

“Pleased to meet you,” Kat said. She politely shook Angela’s hand. “I brought the chemicals.”

“We’ll take care of the unloading,” Angela said. “James, help us out and we can get these to Medical in one trip.”

“Yeah, let’s move ’em quickly,” Lucas said.

*****

“Your engines are impressive,” Siya said. “Not as impressive as your android friend, but you’ve clearly used a lot of ingenuity in modifying them.”

“Well, thank you,” Grace said. “I did work hard on them.”

“You must be at about… 135% engine efficiency compared to an unmodded version?” Siya asked.

“137%,” Grace said. “I’m sure I’ll come up with something to improve them even more too.”

“Well, I do know the engine type,” Siya said. “I think I could help you up to about 148. Or, to be exact, I can give you some ideas that will get you there.”

“Great!” Grace declared.

“Well, I still owe you,” Siya said. “I’ve shown you some very advanced schematics, but they can’t really compare to…” she scrutinised Yuri’s schematics “this.”

“Oh, about those,” Grace said. “I should warn you. The androids are completely sentient. Which does mean that they have self determination and can’t really be controlled. For Yuri, it’s fine. Dealing with her is like dealing with a nice, sincere person. But we found another android with her and he was unstable. Psychotic even. I would suggest extreme precautions if you’re going to try and build any androids like them.”

“We will,” Siya said. “Although reconstructing the brain will take some doing. It may be a good twenty years before we can even get a first prototype.”

“I would have an even longer time table,” Grace said. “Just because I’m the only engineer on the Cerberus. It’s the only reason I haven’t petitioned Ophelia & Lucy to let me try making another sentient android.”

“You could always stay on Turing and work with our team,” Siya said. “You have some experience maintaining a working android. You’d be invaluable. Possibly even the best candidate for leading the project.”

“Is that so?” Grace said. “Well, it’s a nice offer. But I’ll have to stay where I am. The Cerberus needs me. Farah needs me and I need her. But you have to send me status updates and stuff. I can at least give you some advice.”

“I’ll take you up on that,” Siya said.

*****

“You two mix up as much as you can,” Angela said. “I’ll go assess who needs it most.”

“Don’t worry, we’ve got this,” Lucas said. “Dosage should be about 20 milligrams for an adult?”

“Twenty five, I should think,” Paul said. “A quarter of that should do it for for children. Half for teenagers.”

“Right,” Lucas said. “You know, Doctor Albrecht, it’s been unreal working with you. I really admired your work during my time studying medicine. Thought it was so unfair when the alliance took your license.”

“Thank you,” Paul said. “It’s been a pleasure working with you as well. You’re a very bright, talented young man.”

“Aww, you’re making me blush,” Lucas said.

*****

Femi returned. Her  face had a softer look. Her stance was more relaxed. “The analysis team has confirmed that it is alliance tech,” she reported. “They believe that the alliance wired it to detonate remotely and dispersed it during our short period without internal scanners. We will investigate just how their timing managed to align so perfectly.” She took a deep breath and bowed. “Thank you, for finding this evidence. I was mistaken about your team.”

“Don’t worry about it,” Farah said. “Anyone would have been suspicious.”

“So, when are you going to make them go boom?” Leon asked.

“What my colleague is trying to ask,” Lucy stated, “is what is Turing going to do to ‘rain justice upon them.'”

“We’ll have to have a meeting of the senior staff to decide for certain,” Femi said. “But my recommendation will be to immediately ally ourselves with Akumil. And I don’t think they’ll disagree.”

“Hmmmm,” Lucy murmured.

“What’s wrong, Lucy?” Farah asked. “Aren’t you happy?”

“Now what kind of question is that?” Lucy asked. “Come on, you two. We’ve solved this little mystery. We might as well take a nice, leisurely tour and check on Paul’s progress.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

