Voyages of the Cerberus 137: What’s Next For Yuri?

“We have seen to your shuttle,” Lunais declared. “We have supplied it for all your needs and with some reminders that may help you in your personal journey.”

“I am appreciative of all that you have done,” Yuri stated. “Thank you.”

“Will you return to your comrades?” Lunais asked.

“I will not,” Yuri answered. “At least not yet. talking with you has allowed me to attain a degree of recovery for my heavily damaged emotional state. However, it is still too early to return to the Cerberus. There is simply too much history within that ship… around the crew. It will be better if I spend some more time away.”

“You are welcome to spend more time with us, should you wish,” Lunais offered.

“I am grateful for the offer, but I must decline,” Yuri said. “I believe that spending some time exploring the universe will be of more benefit at this time.”

“Then we will wish you well,” Lunais said. “We will also extend an invitation to you and your crew to visit us again at any time.”

“That is very gracious,” Yuri said. “I will extend your invitation when I am capable of returning.”

She and Lunais bid farewell and she boarded the shuttle. In truth, she was still interested in staying but she was also concerned. Lunais had been very kind and she was beginning to suspect that the legendary “Himestrix” might be developing feelings for her. She was most definitely not prepared for that. So, she would move on.

*****

“So, are you going to tell me I was right?” Lucy asked.

“Fine,” Ophelia conceded. “you were right. The trip to Dolonis was worth it.”

“I knew you’d see it that way,” Lucy said.

“Just don’t keep bringing it up,” Ophelia said.

“I only will when you’re being needlessly stubborn,” Lucy said. “Just as a friendly reminder.”

“Wonderful,” Ophelia muttered. She perused the list of jobs in front of her. “Let’s just find something quickly.”

“I’ve already found something,” Lucy said.

Ophelia moved over to her and looked over at the offer. It was a surprise. “This is…”

“The akumillian government wants me to take part in some negotiations with a planet on the edge of known space,” Lucy said.

“But they only want you,” Ophelia said. “What’ll the rest of us do?”

Lucy shrugged. “Maybe you can find a mission to go off and take care of while I’m working.” Or you could stay in orbit and wait. The job pays more than enough to justify taking it.”

“I know that much,” Ophelia said. “But I wonder why they want you specifically?”

“Because I’m the best,” Lucy answered. “And they’re worried about you and the others making a good impression for the human alliance.”

“Well, I guess we can try to find our own mission in the area,” Ophelia said. “I don’t want to spend too much more time at ease.”

“Worried your skills will atrophy?” Lucy teased. “If it helps, they’ve found some old asteroid mining bases in the vicinity. They haven’t really been touched by our people or the alliance. You might just find some neat salvage.”

“Then we’ll do that after dropping you off,” Ophelia said. “I’ll inform the crew. You get prepared for your mission.”

*****

Y4-R1’s Personal Log

I have detected a distress beacon from a nearby world, Hietzberg Gamma. Records indicate that it is not inhabited. Nor is it well suited for carbon-based life forms. If a ship has crashed, it will be essential that they are aided quickly.

The atmosphere will not be detrimental to my circuits. I have altered course that I might render the necessary assistance.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

